News from the piano festival “Le Piano Symphonique” 2024 in Lucerne

For health reasons, Maria João Pires will unfortunately not be able to perform at the piano festival “Le Piano Symphonique” as planned. We would like to take this opportunity to wish her a speedy recovery.

For Maria João Pires Mikhail Pletnev has luckily been found as a replacement.
He will play the opening concert on 16 January with a slightly different programme.

Firstly Mikhail Pletnev solo:
Franz Schubert, Sonata in A minor D 537 op. 164
Frédéric Chopin, 24 Préludes op. 28

and after the interval together with the “Pianiste Associée”, Martha Argerich:
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, Andante with five variations in G major, KV 501
Franz Schubert, Fantasy in F minor D 940

You can find all information online here (German only)

> Vita Mikhail Pletnev

There have been further changes to the programme for two other concerts:
At the evening concert on 18 January, Elisabeth Leonskaja and now David Fray will play Schubert’s Lebensstürme and Alexander Schmalcz will accompany Matthias Goerne at the piano in Schubert’s Winterreise.

In addition to these programme changes, two other artists will perform together with Martha Argerich on the final evening, Saturday 20 January: pianist Akane Sakai and pianist Sergio Tiempo.

The programme: Bach – Prokofiev – Ravel.
Johann Sebastian Bach, Partita No. 2 in C minor BWV 826 (Martha Argerich)
Sergei Prokofiev, Symphony No. 1 in D major, op. 25 “Symphonie classique” (Martha Argerich, Akane Sakai)
Maurice Ravel, La Valse, version for two pianos

> Alexander Schmalcz (German only)
> Sergio Tiempo
> Akane Sakai

If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact us.