Schimmer PR - Public Relations for music

Saleem Ashkar – Beethoven Piano Sonatas

(c) Needa Navae

Ludwig van Beethoven is, within any doubt, the main focal point of Palestinian-Israeli pianist Saleem Ashkar’s artistic activities and thought. And the composer is also Ashkar’s most important influence as a kind of political visionary: “Beethoven was always concerned with the idea of brotherhood. In this sense, he was a child of the French Revolution. We are all equal; we are all brothers. That goes beyond religion; it is the humanist voice that is inherent in this music.”

As the son of Palestinian Christians, Ashkar shows a very particular sensitivity to this socially-relevant aspect of Beethoven’s music, a response that gives his interpretations a unique touch. Critics were unanimously enthusiastic about the Volumes 1 and 2 already released on DECCA.

Volume 3 now brings together seven sonatas from across Beethoven’s creative periods: from the early No. 2 in A major (op. 2 no. 2), a “masterpiece of subtle fantasy, playful power and lyrical simplicity” (S.A.) and the “Waldstein” Sonata No. 21 in C major, op. 53, as the culmination of Beethoven’s “middle period”, to the Sonata No. 31 in A-flat major, op. 110, the composer’s penultimate contribution to the genre.

For Saleem Ashkar, Ludwig van Beethoven is relevant today “at a very personal level, because he can express things so aptly, clearly and powerfully. I find more and more answers, because I have developed trust in Beethoven’s music, a kind of intimacy.”

Schimmer PR | Köln & Berlin | team[at]schimmer-pr.de | Copyright © 2019. All Rights Reserved. Impressum | Imprint | Datenschutz | Privacy Policy

Schimmer PR - Public Relations for music

Saleem Ashkar – Beethoven Piano Sonatas

(c) Needa Navae

FĂŒr den palĂ€stinensisch-israelischen Pianisten Saleem Ashkar ist Ludwig van Beethoven ohne Zweifel der Fixpunkt seines kĂŒnstlerischen Tuns und Denkens. Und darĂŒber hinaus auch so etwas wie sein wichtigster politischer VisionĂ€r: „Beethoven hat ja immer die Idee der BrĂŒderlichkeit beschĂ€ftigt. Er war in diesem Sinn ein Kind der Französischen Revolution. Wir sind alle gleich, wir sind alle BrĂŒder: Das geht ĂŒber Religion hinaus, das ist die humanistische Stimme, die dieser Musik innewohnt.“

FĂŒr diese gesellschaftsrelevante Dimension der Musik des Wiener Klassikers zeigt Ashkar als Sohn palĂ€stinensischer Christen eine ganz besondere SensibilitĂ€t, die seinen Beethoven-Interpretationen ihre einzigartige Note verleiht. Die Kritikerszene zeigte sich angesichts der bereits bei DECCA veröffentlichten beiden Volumes 1 und 2 ebenso einig wie begeistert.

Volume 3 versammelt nun sieben Sonaten aller Schaffensphasen: von der Nr. 2 A-Dur (op. 2,2), einem „Meisterwerk subtiler Fantasie, spielerischer Kraft und lyrischer Schlichtheit“ (S.A.) ĂŒber die sogenannte Waldstein-Sonate Nr. 21 C-Dur (op. 53) als Höhepunkt der mittleren Periode bis hin zu Beethovens vorletztem Gattungsbeitrag, der Sonate Nr. 31 As-Dur (op. 110).

FĂŒr Saleem Ashkar ist Ludwig van Beethoven heute „auf einer sehr persönlichen Ebene relevant, weil er Dinge so trefflich, klar und gewaltig ausdrĂŒcken kann. Ich finde mehr und mehr Antworten, weil sich ein Vertrauen zu Beethovens Musik eingestellt hat, eine Art IntimitĂ€t.“

> Pressemeldung zu den Beethoven Piano Sonatas

Schimmer PR | Köln & Berlin | team[at]schimmer-pr.de | Copyright © 2019. All Rights Reserved. Impressum | Imprint | Datenschutz | Privacy Policy