Schimmer PR - Public Relations for music

Dramatic highlight of German classicism: Beethoven Orchester Bonn releases Beethoven’s incidental music for „Egmont“ op. 84

Under its general music director, Dirk Kaftan, the Beethoven Orchester Bonn has made a new recording of Beethoven’s incidental music for “Egmont”, op. 84, on MDG Records – with specially adapted original texts from Goethe’s tragedy spoken by the popular actor Matthias Brandt. A highly listenable foretaste of the coming Beethoven anniversary in 2020, from the heart of the city where he was born.

(c) Felix von Hagen

Since the Marburg-born conductor took up the position in Bonn as of the 2017/18 season, “an appetite for new experiences has broken out that is seldom seen in connection with German symphony orchestras,” wrote the weekly ZEIT newspaper. And that appetite is as present among members of the long-standing Beethoven Orchester as it is among concert-goers. Critics are equally convinced. Kaftan can do Beethoven, too, and “splendidly” at that, the daily General-Anzeiger Bonn wrote recently in its praise of the performance of the “Egmont” music, and went on to say: “The Beethoven Orchester made the music speak with its tight playing. The famous overture already had a fine resolute tone and incisiveness that led right into the midst of the drama of emotions.”

For this CD production, Tilmann Böttcher and the well-known TV and stage actor Matthias Brandt, who is also the speaker here, have created texts that draw on the original wording. They are put together in such a way that the plot of the tragedy can be easily followed and the musical numbers are coherently connected with one another. “Just as Goethe wanted moods and ideas to be taken up and developed by the music, the music here is taken up and developed by the text right into the next piece of music,” Böttcher explains.

Apart from the overture, Beethoven’s incidental music includes four Entr’actes, a Melodrama, a “Victory Symphony” for the final curtain and two songs (including the famous “Freudvoll und leidvoll” [Eng: “Joyful and Sorrowful”]) for Klärchen, Count Egmont’s commoner beloved, to whom the Ukrainian soprano Olga Bezsmertna lends her voice on this recording. Bezsmertna, who won the “Neue Stimme” competition run by the Bertelsmann Foundation in 2011, is currently a permanent ensemble member at the Vienna Opera and much in demand on stages around the world.

Release: 18 January 2019, MDG Records

> detailed press release

Schimmer PR | Köln & Berlin | team[at]schimmer-pr.de | Copyright © 2019. All Rights Reserved. Impressum | Imprint | Datenschutz | Privacy Policy

Schimmer PR - Public Relations for music

Dramatische Sternstunde der deutschen Klassik: Beethoven Orchester Bonn veröffentlicht Beethovens Schauspielmusik zu „Egmont“ op. 84 auf CD

Das Beethoven Orchester Bonn hat unter seinem Generalmusikdirektor Dirk Kaftan Beethovens Schauspielmusik zu „Egmont“ op. 84 bei MDG Records neu eingespielt – mit eigens von Tilmann Böttcher eingerichteten originalen Rezitationstextenaus dem Goethe’schen Trauerspiel, die von dem populären Schauspieler Matthias Brandt eingesprochen wurden. Hörenswerte Vorfreude auf das bevorstehende Beethoven-Jubiläum 2020 aus dem Herzen seiner Geburtsstadt.

(c) Felix von Hagen

Seit dem Amtsantritt von Dirk Kaftan zur Spielzeit 2017/18 sei in Bonn ein regelrechter „Erlebnishunger ausgebrochen, den man bei deutschen Kulturorchestern selten erlebt“, schrieb die ZEIT. Und das zu gleichen Teilen bei den Mitgliedern des traditionsreichen Beethoven Orchester wie auch bei den Konzertbesuchern. Die Kritikergilde ist ebenfalls überzeugt: Kaftan kann auch Beethoven, und das sogar „großartig“. So adelte jüngst der General-Anzeiger Bonn die Aufführung der „Egmont“-Musik und fuhr fort: „Das Beethoven Orchester brachte die Musik mit straffem Spiel zum Sprechen. Schon die berühmte Ouvertüre hatte einen schönen entschiedenen Ton und eine Prägnanz, die mitten ins Drama der Gefühle führte.“

Für diese CD-Produktion haben Tilmann Böttcher und der bekannte TV- und Theaterschauspieler Matthias Brandt, der hier zudem als Rezitator fungiert, die Zwischentexte aus dem Originalwortlaut dramaturgisch so zusammengestellt, dass sie den Tragödienverlauf gut nachvollziehbar machen und zugleich die Verbindung zwischen den Musiknummern herstellen, erläutert Böttcher: „Genau wie sich Goethe ein Aufgreifen und Fortführen von Stimmungen und Gedanken durch Musik wünschte, wird hier die Musik durch Text aufgenommen und weitergeführt, hinein in das nächste Musikstück.“

Beethovens Schauspielmusik umfasst neben der Ouvertüre vier Zwischenaktmusiken, ein Melodram, eine Siegessinfonie für den Schlussvorhang sowie zwei Lieder Klärchens (u. a. das berühmte „Freudvoll und leidvoll, gedankenvoll sein“), jener bürgerlichen Geliebten von Graf Egmont, der die ukrainische Sopranistin Olga Bezsmertna auf dieser Einspielung ihre Stimme leiht. Die Gewinnerin des Wettbewerbs „Neue Stimme“ der Bertelsmann Stiftung (2011) ist heute festes Ensemble-Mitglied der Wiener Staatsoper und weltweit auf den Musikbühnen gefragt.

VÖ: 18. Januar 2019, MDG Records

> zum vollständigen Pressetext

Schimmer PR | Köln & Berlin | team[at]schimmer-pr.de | Copyright © 2019. All Rights Reserved. Impressum | Imprint | Datenschutz | Privacy Policy